03
May
10

Ireland may have to restrict airspace due to ash

NEWS
Ireland may have to restrict airspace due to ash

Monday, May 3, 2010

Earth

••• The new ban will apply from 07:00 am to 01:00 pm IST (06:00 am – 12:00 pm GMT / 02:00 am – 08:00 am EDT) on Tuesday, May 4, 2010. » The next update will be at approximately 08:00 pm IST (07:00 pm GMT / 03:00 pm EDT).
••• Ireland may have to re-impose a flight ban in its airspace as ash from an Icelandic volcano drifts towards it, the Irish Aviation Authority said on Monday.

The body said it had ‘informed Irish-based airlines that it is concerned that Irish airports may be impacted by the drift south of the volcanic ash cloud caused by the north easterly winds’.

‘Current information from the Volcanic Ash Advice Centre (VAAC) suggests that a ‘no fly zone’ may have to be imposed over Ireland tomorrow that may affect Dublin, Shannon and some regional airports,’ it said.

Airspace across Europe was closed down for up to a week last month after the eruption of Iceland’s Eyjafjallajokull, but was re-opened after emergency talks between European governments, airlines and regulators.
» Check your flight information here: Ryanair, Aer Lingus, Aer Arann, easyJet, Flybe
» Millions watch Iceland volcano online
» Predicted ash concentration charts
Share

Advertisements

0 Responses to “Ireland may have to restrict airspace due to ash”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


Calendar

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

© Copyright 2010 Dominic Stoughton. All Rights reserved.

Dominic Stoughton's Blog

%d bloggers like this: