04
May
10

Irish flights resume after ash cloud threat lifts

NEWS
Irish flights resume after ash cloud threat lifts

Tuesday, May 4, 2010

Earth

••• Ireland and Britain re-opened their airspace on Tuesday after imposing a temporary flight ban due to the return of ash from an Icelandic volcano which paralysed Europe’s skies last month.

The authority attributed Tuesday’s six-hour shutdown in services to shifting winds that pushed ash plumes from Iceland south into Irish airspace.

However it says the latest forecasts show that ‘full operations’ can resume on Tuesday afternoon at all Irish airports.

The shutdown that began at 07:00 am IST (02:00 am EDT / 06:00 am UTC [GMT]) grounded more than 200 flights chiefly operated by airlines Ryanair and Aer Lingus.

The authority cautioned that Ireland would remain vulnerable to ash-related shutdowns.

‘Winds are forecast to continue coming from a northerly direction for the next few days and this could lead to further problems,’ it said.

Restrictions at some Irish airports from 08:00 am IST (03:00 am EDT), Wednesday, May 5, 2010

Increased volcanic activity was experience in Iceland yesterday Tuesday 4th May 2010 resulting in denser volcanic ash being expelled higher into the atmosphere.

Based on the most recent Volcanic Ash Advisory Centre and Eurocontrol data, restrictions will apply at the following airports from the times indicated.

Donegal – restricted from 08:00 am IST (03:00 am EDT) until further notice.

Sligo – restricted from 09:00 am IST (04:00 am EDT) until further notice.

Dublin – restricted from 11:00 am IST (06:00 am EDT) until further notice.

Ireland West (Knock) – restricted from 11:00 am IST (06:00 am EDT) until further notice.

Cork, Waterford and Kerry will not have restrictions imposed before 02:00 pm IST (09:00 am EDT), though restrictions after that point are likely.

No restrictions will apply to Shannon airport or Galway airport until further notice.

A further statement will be issued by 10:00 am IST (05:00 am EDT) this morning, following the receipt of updated volcanic ash data.

Airline passengers should continue to contact their airline websites to establish the up-to-date position on flight schedules.
» Check your flight information here: Ryanair, Aer Lingus, Aer Arann, easyJet, Flybe
• Source(s): U.K. Met Office, Irish Aviation Authority and Eurocontrol
Share

Advertisements

0 Responses to “Irish flights resume after ash cloud threat lifts”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


Calendar

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

© Copyright 2010 Dominic Stoughton. All Rights reserved.

Dominic Stoughton's Blog

%d bloggers like this: