09
May
10

Volcanic ash cloud returns, disrupting European flights

NEWS
Volcanic ash cloud returns, disrupting European flights
Sunday, May 9, 2010

Earth••• A cloud of volcanic ash from Iceland has continued to move over parts of Europe and the North Atlantic.

About 900 flights to and from airports in Ireland, Portugal, Spain, Italy, and Germany were canceled on Sunday as a result of the cloud, announced European airspace controller Eurocontrol.

Hundreds of flights at airports from Lisbon to Munich have been cancelled and some European airspace has been closed because of a volcanic ash cloud from Iceland that caused air travel chaos last month.

All flights to the city of Porto in northern Portugal and the Azores were suspended on Sunday, with normal operations expected to resume by 06:00 am GMT (02:00 am EDT) on Monday, airport officials there said.

In all more than 200 flights were grounded in Portugal, including 71 at Lisbon’s airport, where Pope Benedict XVI is due to arrive on Tuesday for a four-day visit to the country.

The Vatican said the pontiff’s trip was still on schedule despite the air traffic disruptions.

‘At the present time, we expect no change to the program’ of the Pope’s visit, Vatican spokesman Father Federico Lombardi told AFP.

The volcanic ash cloud’s unwelcome return affected air travel across much of southern Europe, especially in France and Italy, and extended into Austria and Germany.

The airspace around the southern German city of Munich was closed at 01:00 pm GMT (09;00 am EDT), cancelling flights there and at other airports, including Stuttgart, authorities said.

‘Due to the high level of contamination from volcanic ash, there have been no flights taking off or landing at Munich airport,’ said the air safety agency, DFS. The measures will be in force ‘until further notice’.

Neighbouring Austria has partly closed its airspace until the early hours of Monday, hampering traffic at airports in Vienna, Innsbruck, Linz and Salzburg, the air authority Austro Control said.

The coordinator of air traffic control across Europe said it expected about 24,500 flights to take place on Sunday, about 500 less than the average for this time of year.

Eurocontrol said: ‘Transatlantic flights continue to be affected by the ash cloud,’ with many suffering delays as they skirt the edges of the volcanic plume.

Authorities reopened Italy’s skies in the north to air traffic at 02:00 pm GMT on Sunday (10:00 am EDT on Monday) after shutting down its airspace earlier for about six hours as the ash cloud hovered over the peninsula, cancelling nearly 300 flights at Milan airports.

On Croatia’s Adriatic coast the ash cloud forced officials to close airports at Split and Zadar at 12:00 pm GMT (08:00 am EDT).

In France, the airspace remained open on Sunday but at least 70 flights bound for southern Europe were grounded at airports in Paris, Lyon, and Nice, the nearest international airport to Cannes, which is to host its flagship international film festival in three days.

The French weather service said the volcanic ash cloud could drift over southern France by Monday morning and could affect Europe’s skies for several months.

Iceland’s Eyjafjoell volcano erupted on April 14 and caused travel chaos worldwide, with airspace closed over many European nations for a week in mid-April over fears the ash would damage aircraft engines with fatal results.

It was the biggest aerial shutdown in Europe since World War II, with more than 100,000 flights cancelled affecting about eight million passengers. The airline industry said it lost about 2.5 billion euros ($3.18 billion).

The volcano began fresh and intensive ash eruptions overnight on Thursday and closed Ireland’s airspace for a time, and was again affecting the island nation on Sunday.

Irish airports at Donegal, Sligo and Ireland West (Knock) on the western coast face restrictions from 02:00 pm GMT (10:00 am EDT) on Sunday while Galway will be disrupted from 03:00 pm GMT (11:00 am EDT) and Kerry from 09:00 pm GMT (05:00 pm EDT), authorities said.

Meanwhile, Spanish air traffic was returning to normal, with most of the 19 airports in northern Spain that were closed on Saturday reopening about 02:00 pm GMT (10:00 am EDT), air control authority Aena said.
• Source(s): EUROCONTROL, Met Office (U.K.), Agence France-Presse (AFP) and Icelandic Met Office
Share

Advertisements

0 Responses to “Volcanic ash cloud returns, disrupting European flights”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


Calendar

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

© Copyright 2010 Dominic Stoughton. All Rights reserved.

Dominic Stoughton's Blog

%d bloggers like this: