30
Jul
10

Ellen DeGeneres Out at ‘American Idol,’ Jennifer Lopez Could Replace Her

NEWS
‘Ellen DeGeneres Out at ‘American Idol,’ Jennifer Lopez Could Replace Her

Ellen DeGeneres’ Exit From ‘American Idol’ Divides Fans
‘She makes the show a lot better, and I don’t think she should leave,’ one fan says.

Friday, July 30, 2010

Entertainment

••• Ellen DeGeneres is leaving American Idol after just one season as a judge.

‘A couple months ago, I let Fox and the American Idol producers know that this didn’t feel like the right fit for me,’ DeGeneres said in a statement released to The Hollywood Reporter.

‘I told them I wouldn’t leave them in a bind and that I would hold off on doing anything until they were able to figure out where they wanted to take the panel next.
‘It was a difficult decision to make, but my work schedule became more than I bargained for. I also realised this season that while I love discovering, supporting and nurturing young talent, it was hard for me to judge people and sometimes hurt their feelings.

‘I loved the experience working on Idol and I am very grateful for the year I had. I am a huge fan of the show and will continue to be.’
The move means there are now two vacancies on the hit show’s judging panel for the 10th season, which returns in January.

Fox has yet to announce a replacement for Simon Cowell, who left at the end of last season to start a new talent show for the network.

With American Idol facing ratings erosion, DeGeneres’s exit gives Fox the chance to make a fresh start with a revamped judging panel.

According to The Hollywood Reporter, Fox has been looking to shake up the Idol format including possibly ditching its current judging panel altogether.

Meanwhile, Jennifer Lopez is poised to take DeGeneres’ place, according to multiple reports.
• » American Idol, Season 10 » Judges: Randy Jackson, Jennifer Lopez, Steven Tyler » Presenter: Ryan Seacrest
• Source(s): The Hollywood Reporter & Fox / News Corporation
• Latest News & Headlines » Home «
Share

0 Responses to “Ellen DeGeneres Out at ‘American Idol,’ Jennifer Lopez Could Replace Her”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Calendar

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

© Copyright 2010 Dominic Stoughton. All Rights reserved.

Dominic Stoughton's Blog

